Monday, June 25, 2012

2012 Standard Chartered KL Marathon


Kuala Lumpur, 24 June 2012 – The Standard Chartered KL Marathon has two new

champions this year as Kennedy Kiproo Lilan of Kenya and Elizabeth Jeruiyot Chemweno of

Kenya, won the Men’s and Women’s Full Marathon with respective times of 02:14:45.32 and


Kennedy Kiproo Lilan setting a new personal best at

this year’s Standard Chartered KL Marathon

Elizabeth Jeruiyot Chemweno coming up top in the Women’s Full Marathon Open Category

The Men’s Full Marathon Open first runner-up medal with a time of 02:15:22.07 went to Charles Mwai Kanyao of Kenya just ahead of Japhet Kipchirchir Kipkorir of Kenya, at

02:16:37.02. Tigist Memuye Gebeyahu from Ethiopia was the second to cross the line in

the Women’s Full Marathon with a time of 02:40:33.57, while Rose Kerubo Nyangacha from

Kenya finished third with 02:41:00.82.

Malaysian Full Marathoners were not far behind with Shaharudin bin Hashim earning the

Full Marathon Malaysian Men’s Title and Ling Mee Eng winning the Malaysian Women’s

category title with a time of 02:42:27.57 and 03:36:48.65 respectively.

Full Marathon Malaysian Men’s Winner,

Shaharudin bin Hashim defends his title again

Ling Mee Eng crossing the finish line

Some 28,000 runners took off from the starting lines in Dataran Merdeka and Jalan Parlimen

throughout race day, solidifying the Standard Chartered KL Marathon’s position as the

largest marathon event in Malaysia. YBhg. Tan Sri Dato’ Mohd. Sheriff Mohd. Kassim,

Chairman of Standard Chartered Bank Malaysia started of Race Day with a blast by firing

the first gun to signal the start of the Full Marathon category.

Other dignitaries present at the marathon were Yang Amat Berhormat Tan Sri Muhyiddin

Hj Mohd Yassin, Deputy Prime Minister of Malaysia; Yang Berhormat Dato’ Sri Ahmad

Shabery Cheek, Minister of Youth and Sports Malaysia; Yang Berbahagia Tan Sri Ahmad

Fuad bin Ismail, Mayor of Kuala Lumpur; YBhg. Tan Sri Dato’ Mohd. Sheriff Mohd. Kassim,

Chairman of Standard Chartered Bank Malaysia; Osman Morad, Managing Director & CEO

of Standard Chartered Bank Malaysia; A. Subramaniam, acting president of the Federal

Territory Amateur Athletic Association (FTAAA); YBhg. Datuk Seri Shahidan Kassim,

president of the Malaysian Athletic Federation (MAF) and Chua Seck Guan, CEO of MSIG

Osman Morad, Managing Director & CEO of Standard Chartered Bank Malaysia said, “We

are proud to be the title sponsor of the Standard Chartered KL Marathon for the fourth

year. Seeing an increase of more than 24 percent runners gather together to ‘run for a

reason’ this year inspires us all to do better and greater things. I’m so pleased to see the Standard Chartered KL Marathon’s tremendous growth this year, and we hope to runners

and spectators alike spread the ‘marathon spirit’ throughout Malaysia and the world.”

Rainer Biemans, Project Director, Standard Chartered KL Marathon 2012 said, “The success

of today’s event truly cements the Standard Chartered KL Marathon as one of Malaysia’s

premiere sporting events. On behalf of the organisers, I’d like to thank everyone for their

dedicated support and commitment that went into making this day a great success. I would

also like to extend congratulations to all of the 28,000 local and foreign runners that ran for a

reason today!”

S. Vegiyathuman, General Secretary of the Federal Territory Amateur Athletic Association

said, “In the four years that The Standard Chartered KL Marathon has been here, so much

growth has taken place in which the running community is now closer than ever before,

thanks to this iconic running event with positive participation and event organisation. What

is interesting to see is the feedback from the running community which demonstrates the

significance of the Standard Chartered KL Marathon to them, with some even stating that the

highlight of the marathon is to see the city of Kuala Lumpur with the company of family and

friends. We hope and wish for the Standard Chartered KL Marathon to continue growing,

and we are proud with the success gained thus far.”

Joseph Mwangi Ngare from Kenya took home the men’s Honda Half Marathon title, clocking

01:06:22.02 while Esther Wambui Karimi from Kenya won the women’s category of the half

marathon at 01:19:38.00.

An official category this year and the only relay race in the Standard Chartered KL Marathon,

the MSIG Ekiden category saw participation from 102 teams. The winners Arul Running Club

took home the first prize for being the fastest to team to complete the 21km distance within 01:16:50.17.

Venugopal s/o Rajendran 00:35:55.80 while Yuan Yu Fang won the female 10km Speed Category with the time of 00:42:39.04.

In addition to the title sponsor, Standard Chartered Bank Malaysia, Gold sponsors include

MSIG and Honda. Official partners are Titan, New Balance, 100 Plus, Doubletree by Hilton,

NTV7 and LI TV. The event is co-organised by Kuala Lumpur City Hall (DBKL) and Ministry

of Youth and Sports Malaysia. The Standard Chartered KL Marathon 2012 is sanctioned

took home the winning title of the 10km Speed Category at and supported by the relevant international and local sporting authorities- Malaysia Athletics

Federation (MAF), Federal Territory Amateur Athletic Association (FTAAA), International

Amateur Athletic Federation (IAAF), Association of International Marathons and Distance

Races (AIMS), and National Fitness Council (NFC).

No comments:

Related Posts with Thumbnails